Beginners Guide to Chakras


After I made my Chakra series of candles, I've had more and more people ask me for more information about the Chakras, and what they mean. I thought I'd create this mini guide for you so you can understand a little more about them, and how the essential oils I used for each one relates to the energy of each point.

In yoga, we work with an energy system and chakras are the seven centres of that system. We are made up of thousands of energy channels (known as nadis) and the main places that these channels meet in the body are known as our chakras. Running up the spine, from the pelvic area up to the crown of the head, our Chakras relate to parts of the body and our emotions.

Here is a run-down of the seven chakras and how they relate to feelings and emotions. Each chakra also has a colour and often natural stone attributed to it, which is a great thing to work with through a visualisation mediation. I will also talk about the candle I make for each area, and how these can help to open up and focus on each particular area.


Colour – Red

Location – Root of the Spine

Healing Stones - Red Jasper, Smoky Quartz and Hematite

Candle Blend

Patchouli, the oil of physicality - herbaceous, camphoraceous. 

Ginger, the oil of empowerment  - hot, spicy. 

Cedarwood, the oil of community - nutty, woody, sweet

Our root chakra is what connects us to Earth, keeping us grounded. It’s role is to give us the basics we need to survive, so when it’s balanced we feel secure in all aspects of life. Spending time in nature is a really great way to balance your root chakra.

It supports us in growing and feeling safe when exploring all the aspects of life. It is related to our feelings of safety and security, whether it’s physical, regarding our bodily needs, or metaphorical, regarding housing and financial safety.


Colour – Orange

Location – Just below the belly button

Healing Stones - Tiger's eye, Golden and yellow citrine and Orange carnelian.

Candle Blend

Wild Orange, the oil of abundance - sweet, fresh, citrus. 

Grapefruit, the oil of honouring the body - citrus, floral, fruity. 

Bergamot, the oil of self acceptance - citrus, spice, with a light floral note

The sacral chakra is our home of pleasurable activities, the creative life force that allows us to enjoy being. It’s a common mistake to assume that the sacral chakra just relates to sex and relationships and although it does, that’s not all it’s about. It’s more to do with doing the things that make YOU happy!

It is associated with the emotional body, sensuality, and creativity. Its element is water and as such, its energy is characterized by flow and flexibility. 


Colour – Yellow

Location – Solar Plexus

Healing Stones - Amber, Orange calcite and Yellow Jade

Candle Blend

Lemon, the oil of focus - clean, fresh, citrus, bright. 

Ginger the oil of empowerment - hot, spicy. 

Rosemary, the oil of knowledge and transition - camphoraceous, herbaceous

We’re all about personal power up in the Manipura chakra. This is where we create our self-confidence, authenticity and identity. When we say “I just have a ‘gut’ feeling about this” in a situation, it all relates back to our solar plexus and knowing what feels right for us. When we are balanced in this chakra, we are connected to our own wisdom and personal truth… some even call it the warrior chakra, as it makes us feel powerful. Just be sure to use that power wisely and kindly.

A balanced Manipura chakra allows you to have control over your thoughts and emotional responses, set healthy boundaries, and be at peace with yourself. Its physical association is with digestive function.


Colour – Green

Location – Heart

Healing Stones - Rose quartz, Jade and Green calcite

Candle Blend

Ylang Ylang, the oil of the inner child - sweet, rich, spicy. 

Jasmine, the oil of sexual purity and balance -  flora, warm, musky, exotic.

Rather obviously, the Anahata chakra is all about love. Feeling loved, knowing we are worthy of love and sending love our there into the world. Compassion and kindness towards yourself and others is key and when you’re balanced, you’ll be able to accept and receive love equally, even in tricky situations. It can be very easy to knock your heart chakra out of balance, as we tend to give a lot more love to others than we give to ourselves. A nice way to work on this is to do just one thing each day that is fully for you… it could be a relaxing bath, maybe some kind of treatment, like a massage, maybe an evening watching your favourite film or a loving meditation.

The heart chakra is also a center through which we experience beauty in life. Seeing the world through a balanced fourth chakra is being in a state of openness and acceptance that brings us in touch with our world and ourselves in profound and fulfilling ways.


Colour – Blue

Location – Throat

Healing Stones -Angelite, Sodalite, Aquamarine, Turquoise.

Candle Blend

Roman Chamomile, the oil of spiritual purpose - Floral, sweet, herbaceous

Peppermint, the oil of a buoyant heart - Minty, fresh, herbaceous

Vishudda is all about communication and doing it with love, kindness and honesty. Knowing which words to use in certain situations is a sign of a balanced throat chakra, but as with all of the chakras, it can easily be put out of balance. Something you can do to help this, is to always think before you speak. Take a moment to assess the situation and ask yourself if what you’re about to say is kind and necessary. Remember to always speak your truth!

Note that this chakra has a natural connection with the second chakra or sacral chakra, center of emotions and creativity as well. The throat chakra’s emphasis is on expressing and projecting the creativity into the world according to its perfect form or authenticity.


Colour – Indigo

Location – Between the eyebrows

Healing Stones - Amethyst, Moldavite and Purple Fluorite

Candle Blend

Geranium - the oil of love and trust. Herbaceous, green, floral, sweet, dry. 

Patchouli - the oil of physicality - herbaceous, camphoraceous.

Lavender - the oil of communication and calm. Powdery, floral, light

Our third eye chakra is where we find our wisdom, our intuition and our psychic energy. A lot of us can easily be disconnected from our Anja chakra, as we tend to not pick up on spiritual experiences, closing our mind to energetic possibilities in this modern world. 

The third eye chakra is associated to the pineal gland in charge of regulating biorhythms, including sleep and wake time. It’s a gland located in the brain that is a center of attention because of its relationship with the perception and effect of light and altered or “mystical” states of consciousness. It’s positioned close to the optical nerves, and as such, sensitive to visual stimulations and changes in lighting.


Colour – Violet/White

Location –Crown of the head

Healing Stones - Amethyst, Charoite and Clear Quartz

Candle Blend

Frankincense, the oil of truth - Warm, spicy, clean, the 'King of Oils'. 

Lavender - the oil of communication and calm. Powdery, floral, light.

Your crown chakra is the places where everything comes together in unity, connecting both your inner world with the entire universe around you – it’s like a universal energy, where everything is one. To have a balanced crown chakra is also described as reaching enlightenment, not some many of us in the modern world can say we have accomplished. That doesn’t make you any less of a yogi though. To energize the crown chakra, you need to work through the lower six chakras first and once they are aligned, you’ll be able to open up to this connection.

So there you have it, my beginners guide to the chakras. If you’re keen on knowing more, then I recommend reading a book called Eastern Body, Western Mind. You can buy it here

I hope this was helpful for you, and if you have any questions at all, then leave me a comment below :)

Laura x